Total Pageviews

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

V.A. - "Fluxus Anthology" Vinyl, White, LP, Limited edition of 500

Edited by Maurizio Nannucci, this is a superb collection of recordings from various artists from the Fluxus art movement.   Incredibly entertaining with many highlights, for instance, Joseph Beuys' pure pop song "Sonne stat reagan" to what sounds like a toilet flushing by Yoko Ono.  For me, the album is very musical, and clearly, there are moments here of great beauty and grace.   Nam June Paik's "My julilee ist unverhemmet" is bone-chilling perfection to me.  What sounds like an old recording of a Wagner like a piece of music, but slowed down with an overlayer of vinyl hitting the needle, becomes a sorrowful and moving work.  

It is an anthology, so it serves the purpose as an introduction to these artists.  Probably the most known work here is John Cage's "Radio Music (1956), " but it's the obscure works (at least for me) by artists I kind of heard of, but not really know their art.   Milan Knizak reminds me of Christian Marclay's broken records material, but I suspect since his selection on this album came from 1979, he may have been first.  "Broken Music Composition" is an intoxicating aural pleasure.  There is nothing really weak in this collection of sound art or pieces.  La Monte Young's "Dream House (an excerpt) is just incredible, Wol Vostell who I believe is a visual artist, expresses great intensity through his "Elektronischer dé-col/age.  Happening Raum, 1968," which I believe is an installation artwork, which has audio.  
Limited edition of 500, I strongly recommend those who have a passion for avant-garde art from the 20th century, to run out and nab a copy for yourself.  Great packaging as well.    The artists on the album are:  Eric Andersen (another highlight), Joseph Beuys, John Cage, Philip Corner, Robert Filiou, Ken Friedman, Juan Hidalgo, Dick Higgins, Milan Kinzak, Alison Knowles, Walter Marchetti, Yoko Ono, Nam June Paik, Gen Vaufier, Wolf Vostell, Emmett Williams, Robert Watt, and La Monte Young.